Guild Wars

Det är inte många veckor kvar till Guild Wars 2-release. Innan jag försvinner in i en värld som jag vill omslutas av vill jag satsa på att läsa en del fiktionaliseringar av loren till spelet.

En del av loren finns att läsa hos Guild Wars 2 Wiki. Scrolla ner för att hitta lore-översikten.

Wooden Potatoes’ Guild Wars 2 Story Summary-serie är också något värt att titta på för den som föredrar att se och lyssna.


Böckerna är tänkta som en bro mellan det första och andra spelet. Tre romaner kommer att ingå i överlappningen.

Guild Wars: Ghosts of Ascalon

Guild Wars: Ghosts of Ascalon — Matt Forbeck & Jeff Grubb

Ghosts of Ascalon är den första boken i serien. Historien äger rum ett år innan händelserna i Guild Wars 2. Vi läsare får följa människan Dougal Keanes historia. Han i sin tur får möta svårigheter tillsammans med sina vänner av de andra raserna i sitt uppdrag att uppsöka en uråldrig artefakt i Ascalon City.

250 years ago, Ascalon burned…

Desperate to defend his land from advancing hordes of bestial charr, King Adelbern summoned the all-powerful Foefire to repel the invaders. But magic can be a double-edged sword–the Foefire burned both charr and human alike. While the charr corpses smoldered, the slain Ascalonians arose again, transformed by their king’s rage into ghostly protectors and charged with guarding the realm … forever. The once mighty kingdom became a haunted shadow of its former glory.
Centuries later, the descendants of Ascalon, exiled to the nation of Kryta, are besieged on all sides. To save humankind, Queen Jennah seeks to negotiate a treaty with the hated charr. But one obstacle remains. The charr legions won’t sign the truce until their most prized possession, the Claw of the Khan-Ur, is returned from the ruins of fallen Ascalon.

Now a mismatched band of adventurers, each plagued by ghosts of their own, sets forth into a haunted, war-torn land to retrieve the Claw. Without the artifact, there is no hope for peace between human and charr–but the undead king who rules Ascalon won’t give it up easily, and not everyone wants peace!

Här skriver Jeff Grubb från ArenaNet om att skriva boken.

Boken finns hos bland annat Adlibris, Bokia, Bokus och CDON.COM.

Första kapitlet finns att läsa gratis här.

- – -

Guild Wars: Edge of Destiny

Guild Wars: Edge of Destiny — J. Robert King

I Edge of Destiny, som är den andra boken i serien, får vi ta del av hur Destiny’s Edge, en grupp äventyrare, formades och upplöstes. Händelserna äger rum sex år innan Guild Wars 2.

Their alliance was forged on battlefields and in gladiatorial arenas: a norn huntress with the soul of an artist; a genius asura inventor and his ambitious assistant; a ferocious charr warrior in exile; a deadly sylvari with deep secrets; and a valiant human champion with divided loyalties. Together they became Destiny’s Edge, and they have never known defeat. But now, these heroes face the ultimate test as they draw steel against an all-powerful Elder Dragon-an enemy that could destroy their legend before it has begun!

Boken finns hos bland annat Adlibris, Bokia, Bokus och CDON.COM.

- – -

Guild Wars: Sea of Sorrows

Guild Wars: Sea of Sorrows — Ree Soesbee

Den sista och tredje boken, Sea of Sorrows, kommer troligen att releasas kring årsskiftet. Den kommer fokusera på Zhaitans uppvaknande och dess påverkan i Tyria.

An original novel based on ”Guild Wars”–the award-winning epic fantasy massively multiplayer online role-playing game
In the fantasy world of Tyria–a place torn by conflict, where human kingdoms are on the decline and all but destroyed, while other races are rising up and seizing control over large portions of territory–a champion must rise from the ruins of a once-proud land to lead refugees from the ashes and fulfill an ancient prophecy.

Boken finns inte att köpa ännu, men du kan bevaka titeln hos bland annat Adlibris, Bokia och CDON.COM.